Divine Connection Church

DESTINY = Spirit in Word and Deed!

The School Yard

Joan Cartwright - Photo: Leo Reinfeld

Today, I’m reflecting on my life even more than I was a few weeks ago simply because of the transition of three people who left an indelible mark on my life:

  • Macarldie, Steel Pan player from Tortola, V.I.
  • Don Cornelius of SOUL TRAIN
  • Whitney Houston, world-renowned vocalist

Are we ever ready for death? It’s neither here nor there because the moment we pop out of our mother’s womb, we’re on the road to finality.

What is my relationship with death? I’ve seen those I love make the transition but I don’t seem to understand that it’s in the cards for me, as well.

Life is an illusion.  There’s a veil between living and dying.  Many fear the thought of leaving the planet.  But, somehow, I don’t quivver at the thought at all.  I remember flying from Cote Ivoire to Gambia, sitting next to a young, white man.  The wind caused such turbulence that I grasped his hand and trembled in fear.

Why are we so fearful of dying?  Is it because we don’t know what’s on the other side?  I’ve often said that Jesus was the only person to come back and he said, “This ain’t it, ya’ll!”

If that’s the case, then why do we so dread that last and final moment? No one has come back.  No one seems to care about coming back to Earth, the school yard where we learn to tolerate other people and love them and ourselves.

Learning to love yourself is the greatest gift of all. ~ Whitney Houston

So, once you learn the lesson(s) of patience, tolerance and love, is it OK to take your own life?  What makes people like Don Cornelius (SOUL TRAIN) just give up and take a gun and blow his brains out?  I don’t think I have that kind of strength.  I mean it must take strength to shoot yourself.  My threshold for pain is way too low for that kind of activity.

Basically, I believe we live until we die.  I’m not scared of dying from a disease or being hit by a bus or a crazy drive by hoodlum.  I’m scared of living so long that everything on my body is about to scrape the floor.  I’m scared of living longer than my children and being all alone.  Then, there’s my Dad who will be 93 in May.  He seems to have found the key to living a happy and fulfilling life, although he claims he has the lock but not the key! LOL

Life, for me, is about being happy, being useful, doing, bringing joy to and out of other people.  Laughter is the elixir of life!  Until I die, I’d like to be able to laugh every single day about something silly, comical, funny, happy, tickly, whatever, every day, I need a good laugh.  That makes living all worth it.

Diva JC

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

