Divine Connection Church

DESTINY = Spirit in Word and Deed!

Opportunities Abound

What is opportunity?

jc-hollywoodwalk

Last week, on a very sunny day, I took the opportunity to walk to the beach for the first time since I moved into my friend’s townhouse.  I left at 10:35 a.m. and arrived at the beach at 11:18 a.m.  Wow! living this close to the beach is a real joy and such a great OPPORTUNITY!  Today, it’s pouring rain and had I not taken that walk, last week, I wouldn’t have the OPPORTUNITY to write this post.

All of my youth, I wondered should I regret having my children so young. My son Michael was born one month after my 16th birthday.  My daughter Michelle (Mimi) was born 16 days after my 18th birthday.  Regrets? Not at all because by the time I was 40, they were grown and out on their own.  My daughter had her first of two sons, when she was 18.  By 25, she had all three of her kids – Robert, Anthony, and Vernechia. And best of all, my second great grandson was born on April 11, 2013.  The first one, Jayvian is a total delight in my life and I know Zyan will be just as wonderful.

zyanzyan-jay

jc-muki

Having several girlfriends who decided early on not to have children, I realize the blessing it is to be a mother, grandmother, and great grandmother.  Kids may not seem very important as they grown but when they do grow up and value you, it is a great opportunity to share very meaningful moments.  For several years, my granddaughter Vernechia, whom we call Muki, didn’t take to me. But when she turned 20, that changed and I so love our exchanges about life and just laughing with her, now.

My son’s daughter’s Maelle and Sophia are so delightful. It’s a wonderful opportunity to watch grandchildren grow into adults.  Since you never know  where your blessings will come from, I have to admit that I’m looking forward to the times when I will spend with them, when they get into their twenties.  As a youthful grandmother and provided long life is my destiny, like my sweet father who turns 94 on May 7th, I believe the best years are ahead of me, especially when it comes to my grandchildren and great grandchildren.

maelle-sophia

The most interesting thing about life is how opportunities present themselves through people you meet. Just this month, I’m been invited to:

  • A cruise on Royal Caribbean Majestic of the Seas out of Miami
  • The WIMUST Conference in July, in Fiuggi, Italy, for which I am raising funds for my flight, [Whoever puts me over $600, today, will get a FREE CD from WIJSF.  You may donate here: http://gofundme.com/jc-wimust]
  • The 7th Annual Distinctive Women in Hawaii History Program in August to sing and do a presentation about Billie Holiday, Dinah Washington, and the Andrew Sisters.

Each of these opportunities arose from meeting powerful women face-to-face or online.

cruiseladiesjc-priscilla

I’m accessing all of these adventurous opportunities because sitting still never results in anything but stillness.

Then, I took the opportunity to create a graphic for my son, Michael’s new radio show at Lehman College. He likes it. I’m glad.

michael-radio

Also, I took the opportunity to take a leave of absence from my doctoral program that I started in May 2010.  After two years straight of doing papers and lots of reading, I’m going for the gusto in Italy and Hawaii and taking the summer off!!!  I’ll go back to my online studies on August 4th but it will be like a breath of fresh air to not have to read and write mounds of pages about research, business, and marketing!

Finally, on May 18, I will be in the cast of my daughter’s play WOMAN! THE MUSICAL for the second time, this year.

womancast1

Yes, yes, yes, opportunities abound!!!

I AM the Grateful Goddess

Diva JC

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Opportunities Abound

  1. Lorna Lesperance on said:

    You really are blessed. I’m always amazed by your endless energy and enthusiasm for life. Keep on living, keep on doing !!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

