Everything begins in your imagination

1jcvoiceEach time you express a desire, the universe moves to make your dream come true. That’s why it is so important to think good thoughts and dream big! You are a co-creator with the universe and it is your prerogative to have everything or nothing at all.

Seven years ago, I decided to return to university for my doctorate in Business Administration/Marketing. I knew I would need something to carry me through my later years because musicians rarely have a pension. I completed my studies in July 2017 and began applying for teaching positions. However, the course I was chosen to teach was not in business or marketing but in public speaking – speech communication – for which my Master’s in Communication prepared me to teach.

I applied to numerous schools around the country but nothing materialized in my doctoral discipline. Then, two deans advised me that there was a shortage of speech professors and I should not discount the value I brought to the academy as a qualified speech teacher. I was slightly disappointed. But I kept fishing for opportunities and one just materialized.

My friend had just returned from Shanghai, China, where she taught a 5-week course in psychology. I told her I wanted to do that and she said the school was always looking for Speech teachers. So, I said, “Well, hook me up!” And she did!

Last week, I learned that my resume was accepted by the Chinese ministry to teach Speech Communication at Shanghai Polytech University in December! I’m thrilled because Broward College has affiliates in eight other countries, too!  Currently, Broward College has International Centers in BoliviaChina – ShanghaiEcuadorIndia, IndonesiaPeruSpainSri Lanka, and Vietnam. I hope to teach at all of them!

Although I am desirous of teaching in my doctoral discipline, I do love teaching speech to college students. They think the class is only about standing up and talking about a subject. But is it about far more than that!

In the past three years, I relished seeing the lights go on in the eyes of my students. They learned to listen and think critically, research their topic, and organize their speech so that their audience (fellow students and me) understand, clearly, the premise that they are putting forth. Teaching this subject is extremely rewarding and, unlike business administration and marketing, every college student is required to take Speech Communication. So, I will never run out of places to teach.

In addition, getting to travel to foreign countries is a huge plus for this retired Jazz Diva! To enhance my teaching experience, I joined Toastmasters International, in April, to experience being evaluated for my speeches. Since I do the evaluations in my classes, I never get to be evaluated.

sailfishbanner

Another friend introduced me to Toastmasters a few years ago. But I didn’t see the value in it for me until I began teaching Public Speaking. I’ve completed the first 10 speeches and I must say that I have learned a lot about being a Competent Communicator. I belong to the Sailfish Toastmasters in Boynton Beach and I’ve taken on the board position of Vice President of Public Relations which gives me the opportunity to use my marketing skills.

Find out more about Broward College’s International Centers.

jcwisdom-know

 

Leave a comment